Perl script unable to executing another perl script from apache server

I'm new to FreeBSD - I'm coming from Linux (various versions). I run a local apache server - it's only on the LAN. I haven't configured any jails yet. I use perl and mysql with apache. I've written some generic routines in perl and put them in a file (.pl) that gets included from other perl files. A simple test example would be something like this. In fact this is what I've been running to test that everything works.
first.pl:

Perl:
#!/usr/local/bin/perl -w
print "Content-type: text/html\n\n";
print "<HTML>";
print "<HEAD><TITLE>First</TITLE>";
print "<Body>";

print "First file -calling routine \n";

do "./hello.pl" || print  "Fatal Error:  $@  Can't load hello.pl $!"; 

print "</body>";
print "</html>";

The file hello.pl looks like this:
Perl:
#!/usr/local/bin/perl -w
print "Hello, World.";

Both files are in the cgi-bin directory.

The permissions on the cgi-bin directory are:
Code:
drwxrwxrwx   6 www  www      1024 Jan 18 14:27 cgi-bin
And the file permissions are:
Code:
-r-xr-xrwx  1 www  www  82 Jan 13 10:57 first.pl
-r-xr-xrwx  1 www  www  424 Jan 18 14:27 hello.pl
When I load first.pl with apache it executes everything up to the "do" statement. The error message I get is "No such file or directory".
I can execute first.pl from the command shell and everything works. This code was running under KDE before I migrated to FreeBSD.

The configuration in httpd.conf for the cgi-bin directory is as follows:
Code:
 <Directory /.../.../.../cgi-bin>
      PerlResponseHandler ModPerl::Registry
      PerlOptions +ParseHeaders
      SetHandler perl-script
      Options ExecCGI FollowSymLinks 
      AddHandler cgi-script .cgi .pl
    </Directory>