PC-BSD vs Desktop-BSD

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am new to BSD OS, but wanted to give it a try. I have heard of the two variations and think they might be a good starting place for me. Any comments about that? Also, does anybody know what the differences are? I have been to the respective websites, but am unable to tell much of a difference.

Starting with either PC-BSD or DesktopBSD is fine. As far as I can tell, there isn't much of a difference between the two. With either, you can have a GUI-based desktop in a few minutes with no hacking required. They both take away some of the learning curve that newbies to FreeBSD experience.

However, taking away the learning curve also takes away the "learning."

I believe the basic difference is that PC-BSD has pre-compiled packages called PBIs that you double click and they install. Kind of like Microsoft MSIs.

DesktopBSD has a graphical installer and some scripts for improving some of the Desktop stuff like usb mounting. But otherwise DesktopBSD does everything like FreeBSD.

roddierod said:
PC-BSD has pre-compiled packages called PBIs

Along that train of thought, does anyone know if you can use ports and packages with DesktopBSD/PC-BSD? I would hate to see people new to BSD locked in to using PBIs.

You can use ports and packages with PC-BSD, but I think it discourged as you could make a mess.

DesktopBSD doesn't have any other system other than ports and packages. DesktopBSD is basically and GUI installer that installs a KDE desktop, otherwise it straight FreeBSD.

PC-BSD feels a bit like a FreeBSD "distro", while DesktopBSD is just a GUI installer plus tools for FreeBSD. Also, PC-BSD seems to have more active development.