Options for beginners installation on old kit

• Thread starter Deleted member 9563
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 9563

I have been trying to install FreeBSD 8.0 RELEASE on a 1GHz machine with 512MB of memory and CD (not DVD) drive. I have installed several times from the only CD iso that I can find on the download site for i386. When installing, I have chosen the "User" distribution (number 6) from the install menu.

Since I am new to FreeBSD I thought I would start with a simple system with console only so that I don't have to use a mouse or try to understand the X system right away. Although networking with FTP, SSH (in/out) etc works very well, other things don't.

Installing a port is much too slow to attempt to do any larger program and when I type "pkg_add -r name" I get "Error: Unable to get ftp ://.... etc." Are there other CDs available? Is there a better, or more suitable iso? In short, what should I do?

PS: I normally use Linux and have installed numerous distros on this box before. I have also read the FreeBSD install docs. I am just not getting something here. :)

What exactly are you trying to install? There are a lot of ports marked NO_PACKAGE (not available on ftp as packages) for various reasons (licence, doesn't work when packaged, etc.)

try adding more ftp mirrors to /etc/make.conf

Code:
MASTER_SITE_BACKUP?=    \                                                      
        ftp://ftp1.FreeBSD.org/pub/FreeBSD/ports/distfiles/${DIST_SUBDIR}/ \
        ftp://ftp2.FreeBSD.org/pub/FreeBSD/ports/distfiles/${DIST_SUBDIR}/ \
        ftp://ftp3.FreeBSD.org/pub/FreeBSD//ports/distfiles/${DIST_SUBDIR}/
MASTER_SITE_OVERRIDE?=  ${MASTER_SITE_BACKUP}

for me i usually start with minimal installation

then to install kde for example, it is very easy

Code:
sysinstall
configure
packages
cd/dvd
x11

xorg-7.4_2
kde4-4.3.1

edit:
no dvd, so
Code:
pkg_add -r xorg
pkg_add -r kde4

in /etc/rc.conf
Code:
dbus_enable="YES"
hald_enable="YES"