Optimizing FreeBSD for gaming?

Hi,

I'm still somewhat new to FreeBSD, converted from linux (ubuntu if you must know). I'm trying to play the same video game under wine in FreeBSD 8.2-RELEASE x86 as I did in Ubuntu, and it is significantly slower in terms of framerate.

I'm seeking any advice on how to improve my gaming experience. Thus far, here's what I've tried:
  • Ensured soft-updates are enabled on my primary filesystems (was already set by default I believe)
  • Disabled atime updates on my primary filesystems
  • Updated to use a kernel which doesn't load most of the unnecessary modules for my system
  • Disabled all server daemon processes (e.g., nfsd)
  • Reduced the number of virtual terminals I have from 8 to 3 (via /etc/ttys)
  • Added the following to my /etc/make.conf
    Code:
    CPUTYPE?=athlon64
    CFLAGS= -O2 -fno-strict-aliasing -pipe
    COPTFLAGS= -O2 -pipe -funroll-loops
  • Ensured all my ports were up-to-date and upgraded them as necessary with portupgrade
  • Switched to a more lightweight window manager (fluxbox)

My system is a Acer Aspire x1200-U1510A (AMD Athlon 64x2 5000+, 4GB RAM), with an added Nvidia GeForce 9400 (yes, I'm using the "nvidia" driver).

I've also recently configured my system to use dtrace and I've started to try to analyze the game process to identify bottlenecks. I've seen some odd behavior (such as calling the open system call on a directory thousands of times).

I'm starting to worry that there isn't much I can do since the bottleneck is likely in the video card drivers.

My next ideas are to do further dtrace or truss analysis and then try running the game from a tmpfs filesystem.

If anyone has any suggestions either for performance improvements or areas I should look into, please respond :)

ecd said:
[*]Ensured soft-updates are enabled on my primary filesystems (was already set by default I believe)
Try using ZFS which may (or not) increase overall performance.