OpenVPN server not forwarding traffic

HI,

I am new to OpenVPN. The VPN is configured and the VPNclient can connect.

I have the following topology

VMware workstation 17 Guest
Host Wins10
localLAN Bridged mode VPN subnet

ipradio .50 <------192.168.100.0/24 -------> .250 VPNserver .1 <------ 10.200.200.0/24 -------> .2 VPNclient

- the localLAN subnet has been pushed from the VPNserver to the VPNclient.
- local routing and access policy allows the VPNsubnet via 192.168.100.250.

- The VPNclient can ping both of the VPNserver interfaces.
- The VPN client CAN NOT ping the ipradio.
- The VPN server can ping the ipradio.

I think VPNserver is either not forwarding the traffic, or is doing NAT or something that modifies the packet.

Does anybody know what could be wrong?

I have

root# sysctl net.inet.ip.forwarding
net.inet.ip.forwarding: 0

does this need to be 1?

What is the command to change ip forwarding to 1 in freebsd?

Yes, you should enable forwarding
Code:
# sysctl net.inet.ip.forwarding=1
It's temporary. To permanent add to rc.conf
Code:
gateway_enable="YES"

Do you enable forwarding?
Code:
net.inet.ip.forwarding=1

I don't think so none of the guides bother to mention it. The documentation is a can worms, there's contradictions everywhere, examples provided dont work because of missing commands, or commands that do not exist.

I used the so called official openVPN guide, none of the commands work, and it doesn't even mention ip forwarding. I feel the documentation is deliberately poorly written to drive people towards the paid platform.

Its annoying, its not the technology, its the documentation that has you driving through treacle

So I just need this command

net.inet.ip.forwarding=1 ?

Reading around I saw something that said the best way to do it is with the

gateway_enable = YES in rc.conf

just need some confirmation before I implement it and it makes freebsd explode and have to rebuild it

That is the standard way of enabling forwarding.