oh no, top level domain name doesn't resolve

Hi,

Bear with me because I am quite new to server administration!

I have just set up a freeBSD dedicated server with apache, mysql, php etc. It will host files if I type in the IP address to the browser, but if I use the domain name it won't resolve and I get
"The browser could not find the host server for the provided address."
(exact wording varies depending on browser).

I suspect this is a problem with the name server, which is out of my hands, but I am worried it could be something I havn't set up properly in apache.

in httpd.conf I have set:
Code:
ServerName www.mydomain.com
(where mydomain.com equals my actual domain name)
Code:
DocumentRoot "usr/local/www/data"

and after reading around I also added the following to try and fix it:
Code:
<VirtualHost *>
ServerName www.mydomain.com
ServerAlias www.mydomain.com
DocumentRoot /usr/local/www/data/
</VirtualHost>

The domain name has recently been changed to point to the new dedicated server, and I've got a feeling it might not have been set up correctly yet. The changing of this is out of my hands, but setting up the apache server is my responsibility.

Could I get this error if apache was not set up correctly, or would I get a more descriptive message?

Any help would be massively appreciated!

Thanks,
James

This is a DNS/resolver issue, not an Apache issue. You will probably not be able to ping or traceroute that address either.

cool

Thanks for the reply!

That's good news then (kind of!). I suppose all we can do now is wait for the name to propogate through, as the company in charge of the DNS claims that they've done their bit.

dig results

Thanks for the tip! Here are the results I get when I do this:
Code:
; <<>> DiG 9.4.2 <<>> @199.7.67.44 A [url]www.mydomain.co.uk[/url]
; (1 server found)
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 21
;; flags: qr rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 4, ADDITIONAL: 0