noob ssl sendmail problem

I'm very new to FreeBSD, but I'm using it to run my website, and Michael Lewis' Absolute FreeBSD 2nd edition has been able to step my through the basics and get my website running smoothly the last couple months. Now I want to get mail services running.

I followed his instructions in chapter 16 and thought I had everything working, except I could not send mail outside of my domain. I could send and receive to email addresses within the domain, and receive emails from addresses of another domain (ex. hotmail), but I could not send a message to an address outside my domain (ex. hotmail).

I believed from what I was reading that to accomplish this I needed to implement SASL. The end result is that I can no longer start sendmail. I receive warnings:
Code:
   Warning: Option: CACertPath requires TLS support
   Warning: Option: CACertFile requires TLS support
   Warning: Option: ServerCertFile requires TLS support
   Warning: Option: ServerKeyFile requires TLS support
   Warning: Option: ClientCertFile requires TLS support
   Warning: Option: ClientKeyFile requires TLS support
and sendmail does not appear to start.

To install SASL I went to /usr/ports/sendmail and ran:
[cmd=]make SENDMAIL_WITH_SASL2=YES all install clean[/cmd]
I was not warned that I'd have options, so I accepted the defaults, and don't remember what those were.

I added to /etc/rc.conf
Code:
   saslauthd_enable="YES"

I started saslauthd by running:
[cmd=]/usr/local/etc/rc.d/saslauthd start[/cmd]

I changed /etc/mail/mailer.conf to
Code:
   sendmail    /usr/local/sbin/sendmail
   send-mail   /usr/local/sbin/sendmail
   mailq       /usr/local/sbin/sendmail
   newaliases  /usr/local/sbin/sendmail
   hoststat    /usr/local/sbin/sendmail
   purgestat   /usr/local/sbin/sendmail

I added to my /etc/mail/hostname.mc
Code:
   TRUST_AUTH_MECH(`GSSAPI DIGEST-MD5 CRAM-MD5 LOGIN')dnl
   define(`confAUTH_MECHANISMS', `GSSAPI DIGEST-MD5 CRAM-MD5 LOGIN')dnl