Noob ssh question

Ok im just getting into bsd and i am loving it. I have one problem though and i cannot get ssh to work when i get outside my network. I have tried forwarding port 22 to the server but nothing works. i get a "ssh: connect to host ******.org port 22: Connection refused" error. Thanks!

Without an idea how your network and BSD box look (NAT? bridge? router? firewall? DSL/cable modem with port-forwarding? sshd running or not?) no meaningful answer can be expected...

i just have a netgear router with nat disabled and port forwarding on port 22 to my machine. Pretty sure i dont have a firewall. sshd is running because i can ssh into the machine localy.

O ya when i access the ip address through a brower it takes me to the router but i disabled remote router access.

macdog303 said:
i just have a netgear router with nat disabled and port forwarding on port 22 to my machine.
How did this router forwarding a port while nat disabled? Did you try to enable nat?

macdog303 said:
Pretty sure i dont have a firewall.
Unless you set a firewall, there's no default and active firewall on FreeBSD. So you're right, there's no firewall on your box.

macdog303 said:
sshd is running because i can ssh into the machine localy.
So it's not a freebsd or sshd problem. It's related with your router.

There are only two option for my router for nat it is either open or sercure i have tried both and neither change anything. I have forwarded port 80 and 22 to my server but no luck and when i try to access the webserver in a broswer it just takes me to the router page.

If you turn of NAT what IP address does your machine get? Is it the Internet address or a private range address?

Try running tcpdump, something like # tcpdump -Xni re0 port 22. Or port 80 if you want to see HTTP.