No sound on FreeBSD 11.2 with Xfce4, Dell Optiplex 455, Intel chipset

Hi Esteemed Experts,
Can you assist with this “no audio” issue? I love this OS and have been at it for a few days. Success everywhere but no audio. I read the handbook and searched online for driver solutions and modified a few files but can’t get sound on Firefox or VLC. Video is just fine. Xfce seems to have no way to deal with sound setting. Trying to package install pulse audio didn’t work as the repository no longer seems to contain it( wrong version, maybe?). Although familiar with CLI since the 60s, I am new to this. Help would be most appreciated…behold some germane terminal output:

OUTPUT FROM /etc/rc.conf
---------------------
hostname="Alien"
ifconfig_em0="DHCP"
# Set dumpdev to "AUTO" to enable crash dumps, "NO" to disable
dumpdev="AUTO"
zfs_enable="YES"
dbus_enable="YES"
hald_enable="YES"
slim_enable="YES"
snd_hda_load="YES"

OUTPUT FROM /boot/loader.conf
---------------------------
kern.geom.label.disk_ident.enable="0"
kern.geom.label.gptid.enable="0"
zfs_load="YES"
sound_load="YES"
snd_hda_load="YES"

OUTPUT FROM dmesg | grep pcm
Installed devices:
pcm0: <Analog Devices AD1984 (Analog)> (play/rec) default
pcm1: <Analog Devices AD1984 (Analog)> (play/rec)
No devices installed from userspace.

OUTPUT FROM cat /dev/sndstat
pcm0: <Analog Devices AD1984 (Analog)> at nid 18 and 20 on hdaa0
pcm1: <Analog Devices AD1984 (Analog)> at nid 17 and 21 on hdaa0

OTHER INFO:
cat /dev/random > /dev/dsp1 produces horrendously loud static
in the headphones.
running live CD with Linux Mint 19 produces normal sound with total control
as did Lubuntu 14 so the onboard Intel hardware works fine just not on FreeBSD.

Hardware Platform is: Dell Optiplex 755 Desktop with INTEL Pentium 64 bit