No luck with an RX 580

I can not get a usable graphical desktop going with Ghost/Freebsd

Hardware: Ryzen cpu, RX580 video card, plenty of ram, UEFI. I have tried the latest official release of Ghostbsd (20.01) and Freebsd (12.1).

Linux and Windows have no problems with this setup

I have been able to kind of get a graphical desktop 2 ways:

1) Using SCFB. Works fine, but can only display 1024x768. Maybe when I get old, this will be fine, but on a 27 inch screen it is unusable. Is there anyway to change this? Xrandr only gives 1024x768.

2) Using VESA, I can get a full 2550x1440 screen, but the screen refreshes at about every 2 seconds – videos are completely unwatchable

From the command line I have typed: X -configure. And I get: AMDGPU [KMS] drm report modesetting isn’t supported. The Xorg log file shows: No screens found

I have added hw.syscons.disable=1 to my loader.conf. It completely locks up my computer.

I have been using Linux as my desktop for about 30 years, so the unix-like environment is not an issue. I even have Ghostbsd running nicely in a virtualbox in linux – complete with KDE.

I would like to switch to Ghost/Freebsd, but without a usable desktop I can not. I even upgraded my video card as several folks online have been able to make it work – but not me.

Thoughts?
JC

From the command line I have typed: X -configure. And I get: AMDGPU [KMS] drm report modesetting isn’t supported. The Xorg log file shows: No screens found

Remove whatever configuration you have, start X (without -configure) and attach the log file here.

A completely clean install - Xorg.log attached. So, looking at it, the 12.0 drivers are being used, and not the 12.1.

Attachments

• Xorg.0.log.txt
    7.7 KB · Views: 165
Compiled and installed drm-kmod. Same issues. I checked in the /boot/modules/graphics directory and they all showed today's date, but the log file shows the old files. Not sure why.

Attachments

• Xorg.0.log.txt
    5 KB · Views: 165