No GNOME or X running after install

I installed from Disk 1 but never got asked for Disk 2, and a lot of packages failed to be found. I rebooted from Disk 1, reran the install and selected ethernet installation from the ftp sites at freebsd.org. I selected GNOME 2.26 and Xserver system (I selected the package set for an Xwindows user). After hours and hours of downloading and installing (on a cable connection), it boots up to a console prompt. I was expecting it to boot-up to a GNOME login prompt.

I tried running startx, and also gdm. Neither work. Also, my user account can't su - to root, but that's another issue. (I guess a config file change to fix that behavior?) If I log out of my user account, I can login as root then.

I'm a newbie to FreeBSD, with experience installing Linux and Solaris. So far, this is not near as friendly as either Linux or Sun Solaris.

The documentation says Sysinstall can be re-run after an initial installation. I ran Sysinstall from the console prompt while booted up from the hard drive, and I've booted up again from Disk 1 and looked at Sysinstall again. I don't see how to upgrade from there, just Post-Install configuration, and initial base install all over again. I don't want to repeat the hours and hours of downloads just to end up right back where I'm at now.

Next, I revisited the documentation and it points me to finding and installing from packages or ports. There are entire sections, and even a chapter on installing X. Seems that should have been done already from my base installation selections. What am I doing wrong or missing?

As I'm writing this, I have pkg_add -r gnome2 running, and I'll follow the instructions to enable GNOME services on startup. Shouldn't the install have taken care of this already, based on my selection of an Xwindows user?

I appreciate any clarification, help, and advice, you guys and gals can offer.

Thanks in advance!!

John

JohnE1 said: