Newcomer; iPhone Help?

Hello folks.
I am extremely new to FreeBSD and have spent much time in the handbook and searching for things in this forum and have a nice working desktop as of now :)

I have been using Apple since I was a kid and while doing research into open-source software and systems, I chose BSD over Linux. That said, one thing I don't want to give up in the here and now is my iPhone, I choose this because of multiple issues I have with Google products and things in their terms of service. As such, the only thing stopping me from being able to use FreeBSD exclusively (which is my current goal) is not being able to sync assorted data from my device.

I hope some of you have patience, I've got alot to learn.
That said, I have installed ifuse, libimobiledevice, and usbmuxd.
I have added fusefs to my rc.conf
Whenever I try to mount with ifuse it reports that it can't access a "lockdownd" service and asks if my device is even connected. It shows that my iPhone is connected in dmesg. Any ideas on things I might try short of keeping a Mac with iTunes around?

I'm sorry that I don't have an answer to your immediate problem, but out of curiosity, why does one even need their iPhone connected to a computer these days? Apple has evolved the iPhone over the years to the point that having a computer is unnecessary unless you're dead set on manual local backups to iTunes. In that case, you'd probably be better off running a Windows VM.

No it's fine, thanks for answering. I can answer that question;

My biggest three things are
*My photo library. I have a well organized and categorized photo library, my daughter's entire life is on there essentially.
*My music library. It's over 100gb, full albums, very finely organized and tagged. It's important to me.
*Nanoloop data. I'm a hobbyist musician and tie in Nanoloop on my iPhone with a Gameboy and some other things on