Newbie Fubared Gnome Install

Hi: I'm pretty much a complete newbie on FreeBSD. I had some good experiences with PC-BSD, and so wanted to try Gnome on FreeBSD. I edited rc.conf to go into Gnome at boot. But now, when I boot, the system goes directly to the Gnome screen...but without the upper panel or any access to the applications or a login, for that matter. All I have is the background screen, the lower panel, and a box in the middle showing a computer icon with a title that switches between my ISP and FreePSD 7.3, and two buttons labeled "reboot" and "leave"...but neither one works.

Other than reinstalling and trying again, does anyone have any suggestions? :r
Thanks in advance.

It sounds like you don't have procfs mounted. I'm pretty sure GDM requires procfs these days, though the FAQ only mentions it as part of the keyring setup:

Why do I need confirm access to my keyring every time Nautilus tries to open an external share?

You did not mount the procfs file system. Procfs is not mounted by default in recent releases of FreeBSD. Consider adding the following line to your /etc/fstab file:
Code:
proc           /proc       procfs  rw  0   0

Beastie: my apologies. The machine is an Acer 3 GHz P4, 1 GB of RAM, 80 GB HD, with no other PCI cards installed.

I installed FreeBSD 7.3 from CD's, rather than 8.0, because some of the ports I tried to install on my PC-BSD 8.0 system were apparently not available for the newest release of FreeBSD. I did a full install to the complete disk, and that seemed to go flawlessly. I then installed gnome:

pkg_add -r gnome2

The install ran for about an hour with a full time DSL connection, and seemed to go well. I then added the pico editor from the third CD and used it to add the line

Code:
gnome_enable="YES"