New to FreeBSD. Startx fails with "Cannot run in framebuffer mode.". Help!

Hi guys,

I'm new to FreeBSD. I recently installed FreeBSD 12 on my system with a Coffee Lake i5 9600k CPU and integrated Intel UHD 630 graphics. The install went smoothly, but when I try running startx I get the strange error message: "Cannot run in framebuffer mode. Please specify busIDs". I know from reading the forum that this is a common issue, usually caused by problems with the video drivers. I have tried installing/uninstalling/reinstalling various packages including xorg, xf86-video-intel, and drm-kmod. I know that it is finding the driver, since I see i915kms.ko listed via kldstat. I tried installing drm-kmod-next and writing kld_list = "/boot/modules/i915kms.ko" in /etc/rc.conf as some have suggested, but it made no difference. I also get a strange error when I try Xorg -configure: "Number of created screens does not match number of detected devices. Configuration failed."

Questions:

1. Any ideas for what I should try next?

2. Is the issue simply that processor is too new? I'm a bit skeptical that this is the problem, since the graphics engine was basically unchanged between Skylake and Coffee Lake.

First, for future posts, it's called FreeBSD 12.0-RELEASE (FreeBSD 12 is not enough information).

The default i915kms.ko driver does not support CoffeeLake, you have to install one from ports.
I know that it is finding the driver, since I see i915kms.ko listed via kldstat.
That doesn't mean a lot. To se if the driver attached, something like the following should appear on the console/dmesg when the driver is loaded.
Code:
info: [drm] Connector eDP-1: get mode from tunables:
info: [drm]   - kern.vt.fb.modes.eDP-1
info: [drm]   - kern.vt.fb.default_mode
info: [drm] Connector VGA-1: get mode from tunables:
info: [drm]   - kern.vt.fb.modes.VGA-1
info: [drm] Connector HDMI-A-1: get mode from tunables:
info: [drm]   - kern.vt.fb.modes.HDMI-A-1