New to FreeBSD, is this possible

S

smee204

Hi I am new to FreeBSD and am building my first home server. I have a few questions as I am not sure if FreeBSD is suitable for me.

I am building a server to do the following:
- store and backup my documents, photos, music, tv, etc.
- pvr functionality (maybe mythtv or tvheadend)
- possibly replace my router and firewall
- potentially small website host in future

Is FreeBSD the best OS for this?

I was planning to use FreeBSD mainly because of the ZFS file-system and I want the ability to add extra hard drives when ever I want.

I currently have a linksys router running dd-wrt and wondered would it be better to get rid of this and use the server as a firewall and dhcp server etc? Would this be beneficial or am I best sticking with the router?

I was thinking the best option might be to run FreeBSD as my host OS for the ZFS and firewall functionality and run MythBuntu in a virtual machine for the pvr functionality. Is this the best way?

My hardware specification is a i3 2100, 4GB ram and 2x2TB & 2x1TB of harddrives.

Thanks for any help. I hope this is posted in the correct place!

smee204 said:
- store and backup my documents, photos, music, tv, etc.
- pvr functionality (maybe mythtv or tvheadend)
- possibly replace my router and firewall
- potentially small website host in future

Is FreeBSD the best OS for this?
FreeBSD can do all of that (although I personally haven't tried the TV thing yet). Whether it's the best choice probably depends on whom you ask ;)

Fonz

smee204 said:
I currently have a linksys router running dd-wrt and wondered would it be better to get rid of this and use the server as a firewall and dhcp server etc? Would this be beneficial or am I best sticking with the router?

I was thinking the best option might be to run FreeBSD as my host OS for the ZFS and firewall functionality and run MythBuntu in a virtual machine for the pvr functionality. Is this the best way?