New to BSD... and Unix.

Yo,

As the tittle says, I am relatively new to Unix. I have been using Linux for the past four months, tried several distributions and everything. I have a very basic knowledge of using the CLI, to move, create, delete, list, rename, and so on, folders, documents, and files.

I do not know how to program Unix/Linux.

Now, I am somehow interested in giving either Free BSD, or Gentoo a try, but I hear that they are not that easy to use. I would be using my system for general use, that includes (but is not limited to) Internet, Programming (C, C++, Java, Assembler, and a few others), Image Editing, Sound Editing, and Office Work.

- Are there any recommendations from anyone?
- Would it be a bad Idea for me to do this?
- If it is not a bad Idea, where, and how do I start?

Thanks,

MexDeath

If you're just a "user" you may want to get your feet wet first with PC-BSD. At least until you get the hang of the BSD way :e

vermaden said:
Gentoo is based on FreeBSD, same way as Gentoo's Portage is based on FreeBSD's Ports.
I think that's about as far as the similarities go.. Gentoo is Linux not BSD..

Without trying to turn this thread into a religious OS war..
Gentoo may have borrowed a lot from bsd, it uses a linux kernel.
That makes it linux not bsd. Why do you think it's called Gentoo Linux?

ale said:
Weren't you a gentooist before using FreeBSD?

Of course, for about a year os so.

SirDice said:
Without trying to turn this thread into a religious OS war..
Gentoo may have borrowed a lot from bsd, it uses a linux kernel.
That makes it linux not bsd. Why do you think it's called Gentoo Linux?

... and what that has to do with borrowing the ideas of Ports mechanism from FreeBSD and also using USE flags as a FreeBSD's make.conf mechanism borrowed from WITH/WITHOUT build options?

Can you think?

vermaden said: