New install -weird login issues

Hello. I'm completely new to FreeBsd.
Please bear with me if my questions or comments seem dumb or ignorant.

I just installed FreeBsd 12.
During installation I gave root a password, and created user01 with password01.

I then installed Xorg, and finally Gnome3.

When I first booted into Gnome, something weird happened.
I was presented with a login screen, but the suggested user was not user01, but password01.

I tried to login with password01, which failed.
I tried to login with username01 as password, which failed.

I then succesfully logged in as root, with the password I created during installation.
In Gnome's graphical account manager, I changed user=password01 to user=user01.
I then tried to change the password to password01, but this failed.

After some more minutes of trial and error, the system rebooted.

I went into console, and reset the password of user01 to the original password01.
This had no effect on the Gnome login screen.
As user01 with password01, I still was denied entrance.

I tried chown-ing the home directory and tmp.
I entirely removed user01, and recreated user01 with a different password.
I re-installed gdm.

No luck.
Gnome simply doesn't allow me to login as user01/password01.
On the other hand, user01/password01 can login to console without issues.

I finally removed user01, and created a completely different second user.
This second user can login to Gnome without problems.
However, every now and again the system keeps rebooting.

This probably has to do with gdm, and the way logins are managed, but I have no idea how repair that.

If anyone has some suggestions, I would be glad with any help.

I was presented with a login screen, but the suggested user was not user01, but password01.