NanoPi R4S official images not yet available

I know PersonalBSD.org (I came across it with a DDG search). But unfortunately it's not official.

Who is behind PersonalBSD.org? How well known is the project and the developer in the FreeBSD community? Please give me some background info, I am new to the FreeBSD world.

For security reasons I only want to flash official images, so the question about the status of the announcement from Wiki.

Screenshot 2023-11-26 at 07.48.34.png

if you want an official image then you are in for a long wait
in general there is one sometimes maybe two "official" image per soc and there are lots of sbcs for the same soc
there are NO manufacturer official images afaik and official freebsd support is see above
but usually if you run a generic arm64 image over mfgs u-boot+efi you are 90% there

afaik personal bsd is mostly u-boot or edk2 + some minor kernel patches from various public sources
so if you don't want to deal with u-boot and dtb mess you may pick a personal bsd image

SleepWalker is behind PersonalBSD and he is well known. I have used his images and his stand alone u-boot work.

I agree with covacat.. The structure is too rigid for multiple platforms. PersonalBSD is a good approach.
Usually I hate forks because it drains. In this case it enhances. Look at all the RK3588 images he just put up.
That is very nice.

Do I trust the work. Yes. I have no choice. I can't do it myself. Do I run a diff to see whats going on? No.

afaik personal bsd is mostly u-boot or edk2 + some minor kernel patches from various public sources
What would be good is if they submit these as pull requests to freebsd on github. These patches may or may not get accepted but at least interested people can make use of them.

What would be even better is if freebsd build can be modified to make building images for such boards easier.

Do I trust the work. Yes. I have no choice.