MySQL problem

Hello I just started and I was using FreeBSD so I'm new to this and I came across an error that I think is from MySQL.
Code:
ERROR 1045 (28000): Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: NO)
Can you help me to solve some? Sorry for my English which is kind of weak but are ethnic FR [size=-1][FR undoubtedly means something, but no idea what -- Mod.][/size].

I came across this error not too long ago when I was setting up MySQL. I'm pretty sure, it's telling you that you need to set a password for the root user on MySQL. It denies your login because there's no password for the root user.

I forgot to mention how to set your root password for the first time (I'm assuming you've never set the root password before).

mysqladmin -u root password typeyourpasswordhere
Replace "typeyourpasswordhere" with whatever you wish.

When you say you came across this error, do you mean you're trying to use MySQL and get that error, or you've found it in one of the logs? That error basically means someone tried to access MySQL from the local computer (as root) and didn't provide a password. (It looks like a password has already been set)

If you're trying to access MySQL, and you know the password, run mysql -p. The -p tells it to ask you for the password. If you provide the wrong password you'll get the same error, but it'll say (using password: yes) on the end.

Apart from what the others have said; keep in mind that in general you do not want to use MySQL using its root account. If you need another service (a website for example) to have access to a MySQL database then create that database and an associated database account to be used. Then grant the new account access to this database and from there on use that specific account when you need to access the new database.

Something in the likes of:

Code:
smtp2:/home/peter $ mysql -u root -p
Enter password:
Your MySQL connection id is 5514
Server version: 5.1.71 FreeBSD port: mysql-server-5.1.71