My experience with FreeBSD

Hello All,

I hope this is the right place to post this. I just thought I'd share my experience I have had with FreeBSD in the last 3 or 4 weeks (when I started using it for the very first time).

A client of mine was throwing away old desktops and offered me one which I took. The specs were as follows:

P4 2.8Ghz
1GB RAM
80GB SATA hard drive
Gigabit Ethernet NIC

A few days before I received this machine I heard about FreeBSD and OpenBSD on Slashdot. So I downloaded them both and burnt them to DVD. I have never used any BSD system before but I have once (for a very short time) looked at Linux so my command line skills were limited :e

I also got a copy of the book Building a Server with FreeBSD 7 A Modular Approach which I used to install and setup my machine.

Currently I run the following on the desktop I built as a FreeBSD server:

FreeBSD
Apache
MySQL
Webmin
Postfix
Courier Authlib
Courier IMAP
Cyrus SASL
OpenSSH
OpenSSL
PHP
Procmail
Spamassassin
Squirrelmail (with a Nutsmail theme)
Wordpress
PF

What blows my mind is just how much I have installed on one little desktop and how WELL it performs. It reboots in about 30 seconds (with all those services enabled!!). Restarting services is almost instant. The security is top notch. The CPU is almost always idle and I always have up to 500MB free RAM.

Sorry if I'm rambling on here but its just such a refreshing change to what I am use to. FreeBSD must FLY on a proper server or higher end hardware compared to what I have! I also enjoy the fact that I never have to reboot...YEAH!

The other side of it all is the cost. The hardware I happen to get for free, FreeBSD cost nothing. I happen to buy a SSL certificate and a theme for Squirrelmail..total cost: +-£30...£30 for an ENTIRE server...wow!