Multi-boot Problem

Hello everybody

I'm new to FreeBSD, I know that many people asked my question and the problem been solved, but i can't solve it yet.

I just installed FreeBSD on my hard drive to dual boot with windows XP and Ubuntu. The problem I get is that neither option is working when i select it even FreeBSD

I get the boot menu like that:

F1 Win
F2 ?
F3 FreeBSD

F6 PXE

I installed XP fist then Ubuntu "every thing was okay" then while installing BSD i partition a 165 slice from unused space, installed the boot manager and used the auto defaults in disklable. every thing went okay. i reboot and got the problem. when i press f1 it just blinks with no action, f2 is not even available f3 is counting a # every 10 seconds and finally halts for any option

I hope you help me solving that, but consider you are talking to a novice user

If you use also Linux it's better to install:
1. Windows
2. FreeBSD (even on 3rd partition)
3. Ubuntu
Ubuntu's grub will boot everything problem free.
Leave Windows installed "as is"and reinstall first FreeBSD then Ubuntu.
Grub will boot Ubuntu and Windows out of box; some small config is required to boot FreeBSD:
lots of threads on forums just google.

Thank you very much zeiz for your concern, I'll try to stick with your recipe, but i just has one more question, Why The freeBSD does not run at all? I could imagine that it corrupted the boot files for xp and ubuntu but what may happen not making it work. Thank you again

FreeBSD bootmanager doesn't boot Linux (that's why F2 has no effect) though it must detect Windows and boot it as well as FreeBSD itself. I used to boot with just FreeBSD bootmanager for XP/FreeBSD dual boot and it worked fine but I found it a bit boring if compare with grub and especially grub2 which is capable of presenting beautiful splash at its native resolution.