Solved mixed IDE/SATA disks and boot troubles

Hello, I'm quite new to FreeBSD coming from a Linux background and I'm having issues with a rather old PC (Motherboard is an Asrock N61P-S with Athlon 64 x2 6000+ and 4 GB ram, onboard nvidia) on which I decided to install the latest FreeBSD making use of an old small IDE disk hanging around lazily, the only one I had ready, suboptimal but still good for my first tries I supposed. This assumptions was probably wrong. After performing a successful installation I found out that the system only could be started in safe mode, otherwise the boot entered a loop attempting to mount the root fs and never succeeded. My best guess is that safe mode (in the boot options menu) disables the SATA stuff altogether which could explain why the DVD drive is listed present but "not configured" and even mounting it results in "operation not supported by device".
dmesg outputs:
Code:
$ sudo dmesg |grep cd
cd0 at ata3 bus 0 scbus3 target 0 lun 0
cd0: <HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH22NS40 NL00> Removable CD-ROM SCSI device
cd0: Serial Number 55C69C7692E5
cd0: 150.000MB/s transfers (SATA 1.x, PIO4, ATAPI 12bytes, PIO 8192bytes)
cd0: Attempt to query device size failed: NOT READY, Medium not present - tray closed
g_vfs_done():cd0[READ(offset=32768, length=2048)]error = 6

Should I specify parameters at boot time in order to have the hard disk (only) treated as an IDE drive ? Or maybe there's something entirely different that's going wrong here in Your opinion ?

Last edited by a moderator:
Would you post your /etc/fstab, as well as error messages, shown by the kernel, when system does not boot (or a photo of your display)?

First off, the dvd drive now does work, after adjusting settings and permissions.

Yep, fstab is very simple, it only attempts to mount rw the root fs and swap. no file system mounted, no logging.
Code:
/dev/ada0p2    /        ufs    rw    1    1
/dev/ada0p3    none        swap    sw    0    0