Migration from 7.0 to 8.0 screwed up my data disks

I from what I can gather. Changes have been made to the filesystem handling from FreeBSD 7.0 to 8.0.

I am a FreeBSD newbie, so I could easily be my own fault. That being said. I believe that the data is still on the disks but the MBR/Slices/lables have been wiped or somehow damaged. Right now sysinstall -> slices and label sees the disk as empty.

Tried testdisk, normal scan revealed nothing, running deeper scan right now.

Can anyone tell me how to add a slice covering the entire disk like I had before? Without actually doing any damage to data that might be on the disk. Enabling me to mount /dev/ad4s1d and see if the data survived.

I have been reading a ton of blogs, posts on the topic. But can't really find a straight answer when It comes to just creating the slices and not touching the raw data on the disk.

Othervise I will just have to accept the data loss and start over :-/

TiN-MAN said:
Can anyone tell me how to add a slice covering the entire disk like I had before. Without actually doing any damage to data that might be on the disk.
If that's what you had, then fdisk()'s -I option should recreate the slice.
But the problem could be with the BSD label (i.e. partitions) or anything else actually.

By the way, how did you upgrade? And have you mounted the partition(s) outside sysinstall to see if the data is still there?

Beastie: Well. I actually installed FreeBSD 8 on new system and then attached the old disks to the new system. Added them to fstab exactly like the old system and rebooted.

Boot failed with file-system inconsistency. I did not run fsck on them. Removed them from fstab again with vi and rebooted. Tried to mount one of two disks manually. Resulting in a mounted empty disk (guess I should have used read only).

Moved them back to my FreeBSD 7 system where I could read data from the disk I did not mount. And the other one appears empty. It is in my FreeBSD 7 system now. Running testdisk.