MATE is solid!

MATE is solid and very clean!

Big thanks to the developers, and whoever ported everything into FreeBSD ports. Its very well done. I'm liking the default MATE install better than any GNOME install ive I've ever installed. Everything feels very stable, solid, and the initial organization, what's included, etc. etc., feels very clean.

I noticed in the window configuration panel, there's an option to turn on compositing, does MATE have compositing by default, or is that an option to make MATE work better with a compositing manager if I install one? I don't see any options anywhere to manipulate compositing type effects?

I have no answer to your question, I am not that experienced with mate; I just wanted to stop by to say that mate is a brilliant piece of software, I love it. If you love something you want to tell the world :).

rhish said:
MATE is solid and very clean!

Big thanks to the developers, and whoever ported everything into FreeBSD ports. Its very well done. I'm liking the default MATE install better than any GNOME install ive I've ever installed. Everything feels very stable, solid, and the initial organization, what's included, etc. etc., feels very clean.

I noticed in the window configuration panel, there's an option to turn on compositing, does MATE have compositing by default, or is that an option to make MATE work better with a compositing manager if I install one? I don't see any options anywhere to manipulate compositing type effects?

Hello,

I have been trying to install Mate the MATE desktop, but I'm not able to achieve it. Could you tell me how you did it?

Thanks a lot!

tankist02 said:
From http://www.freshports.org/x11/mate/: cd /usr/ports/x11/mate/ && make install clean or pkg install mate.
Hello,

Yes, I've installed X.Org and then the MATE desktop. I also followed these steps:
/etc/rc.conf:
Code:
dbus_enable="YES"
hald_enable="YES"
avahi_daemon_enable="YES"
avahi_dnsconfd_enable="YES"

~/.xinitrc:
Code: