Looking for solid advice on freenas'ing my freebsd

Hello all,

I'm new here and from what I gather freenas "this" or "that" gets asked a lot so sorry in advance for yet another question, but this I think relates more to the OS. Also I read the rules and this "PC-BSD, FreeNAS, NAS4Free, and all other FreeBSD Derivatives" and hope I'm posting in the right place and that it's clear that this is NOT a Freenas troubleshoot but it IS in a way related to it.

I game so I'm mainly a Windows user, but I've been using (/tinkering with) Linux for a few years now. I'm comfortable around the console, the OS structure but I pretty much follow tutorials and in the end stuff works out great! I have a headless Debian server that doubles as a torrentbox (rtorrent + rutorrent) and NFS server for Kodi access around the house. It has served me well but I wanted an upgrade and I ended up deciding on a build for Freenas (left the specs bellow for context). With it I was planing on keeping the torrentbox side and the NFS, increase the storage capacity, improve the odds of keeping my data safe with a easy/quick GUI and get a homelab to try new stuff. Maybe beehyve, plex, etc.

I test-drived Freenas around 11.0 and it wasn't perfect, but what is? It makes for easy management, has plugins and blablabla. It took me a while (one year or so) to buy all the components I wanted but when I start using it "for real", Freenas switches from 11.1 to .2 and the new GUI happens. Iocage happens. And it's a shit show! I hate the new GUI, I actually prefer iocage jails but it's not implemented right and I had a lot of issues using the GUI for managing them. In the end I was using iocage from the console and it was working great but then it kinda hit's me: Why am I using console when the whole point of Freenas was to NOT use it and make management easy and faster to adopt?!

So, here I am with some questions, because all of that: