Loading a variable

This is going to seem like a very stupid question to a lot of you out there but I am a novice and just starting to very slowly learn FreeBSD. I have minimal experience with the language but none the less I am slowly writing scripts.

My question is how do I take the results from a 'find' and place them in a variable without line feeds and even more fun, add quotes around each line?

The results from the find command look like this example (the real life use could have dozens of directory listings which also would change over time and is why automating this is key):
Code:
/media
/media/Movies A-M
/media/Movies N-Z
And the output I desire is:
Code:
"/media" "/media/Movies A-M" "/media/Movies N-Z"

Here is the script I'm trying to make work...
Code:
find /media -type d > temp.dat
# somehow convert temp.dat into a continuous string and save as variable 'directories'
wait_on -w $directories
The goal is to search in all sub-directories for any file change. Wait_on performs this task but if I can't feed it all the sub-directories then it will not work properly.

I'm not necessarily looking for the complete solution although it would be appreciated, but pushing me in the right direction would be helpful.

This should work:

# directories=$(find /media -type d -exec echo "\"{}\"" \; | tr -s "\n" " ")

So your script might now look like:

Code:
#!/bin/sh

directories=$(find /media -type d -exec echo "\"{}\"" \; | tr -s "\n" " ")

wait_on -w $directories

Holy Cow! Now that is something to study.

Both versions appear to work to some extent.

Here is what is going on now...

Code:
#!/bin/sh
directories=$(find /media -type d -exec echo "\"{}\"" \; | tr -s "\n" " ")
echo "Directories: "${directories}
echo " "
wait_on -w ${directories}

Which produces this result:
Code:
Directories = "/media" "/media/Movies A-M" "/media/Movies N-Z"
wait_on: can't open ""/media"" for reading: No such file or directory

Now if I replace the main line with this one...
Code: