Let's start a new project : let's create a new mobile device powered by FreeBSD.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello Freebsd-Lovers.

I plan to buy the "PINEPHONE – Beta Edition with Convergence Package Linux SmartPhone". I would like to install FreeBSD instead of Linux on this device. I would like to create a team of developers. I can help those developers,but not deeply,because I'm a system administrator as a hobbyist. I can hack and configure a system if it does not require high technical skills. I'm not a developer. I'm not a software engineer. I would also know if I can participate by putting in some money into the project,because I know that you would take away time that you should devote to your job. I'm not able to quantify how much money this project would require to be completed,to have a clear idea if I can start or not the project itself. If the amount of money is very high for me,I would like to know if whether a crowdfunding project could be started to get the necessary money. Let me know your thoughts. thanks.

Pinephone started shipping in mid 2021. It is still considered experimental on ubports.
So much is missing. A list of what works and what doesn't is here: https://devices.ubuntu-touch.io/device/pinephone/
It would be a waste of time and developers to try PinePhone on FreeBSD.

We should rather help linux (ubports) get the battery last more than 24 hours, and help with video/camera instead, I feel. FreeBSD on smartphones is not happening. Sorry for being so pessimistic 😅
😊