jails and loopback

Im new to freebsd and jails, please be patient.
according to the freebsd documentation, one should create a cloned loopback for a jail instance.

I can't get behind the purpose of creating multiple loopback interfaces. can someone explain me this?
Should I create a new lo interface for each jail? sounds ridiculous.
Also, is there a security issue if run multiple jails on the same lo interface?

If there's someone who could explain the purpose behind that, that would be great.

It depends on your situation if you need a lo1 at all. If you can put multiple addresses on your 'external' host interface you can easily bind your jails directly to that interface and there's no need for a lo1. Adding a loopback interface and binding your jails to that is useful if you cannot bind directly to the 'external' host interface, if you only have access to a single 'external' IP address for example. Think of the lo1 construct as a 'virtual' private network, your jails are connected to this virtual network and your host acts as a router.

It depends on your situation if you need a lo1 at all. If you can put multiple addresses on your 'external' host interface you can easily bind your jails directly to that interface and there's no need for a lo1. Adding a loopback interface and binding your jails to that is useful if you cannot bind directly to the 'external' host interface, if you only have access to a single 'external' IP address for example. Think of the lo1 construct as a 'virtual' private network, your jails are connected to this virtual network and your host acts as a router.
Thank you. that helped so far, but raises a few more questions:
if I assign the jails to the loopback interface, do I have to do the routing myself or can I access the offered services right through the hosts address?
how can the jails communicate with the outside world?
lets assume a host with 2 network interface, both with different addresses, how can the jails