jails Jail with external IP

Hi

I'm pretty new to FreeBSD, but I want to consolidate my local services around FreeBSD. The way I am imagining that is I have one FreeBSD (currently in a VM on a Synology) and a number of jails for dedicated services - like DNS. I can create a jail and install what I want to it. I can also configure PF, so a port on the host is proxied to the jail.

But this is not perfect. Let's say I run AdBlock Home in one jail and ruTorrent in another. Both of those services expose web interfaces, so it would be best if they could all use port 80. The perfect scenario would be if I could have a dedicated external (so available for other devices on the network) IP for each of those jails. This way, I could add a dedicated info in my DNS and "rtorrent.local" would open the interface.

Is it possible for a FreeBSD + Jails to use dedicated IPs? Please assume that I have close to no knowledge around networking.

Hey, this works without any problems! Thank you patmaddox

I have one extra question, as my understanding of how routing works breaks here :)

1. I can now ssh directly to jail
2. When scanning the network (network tools on iOS), all aliases are visibie.

But my Unify controller doesn't see them - just the host. I'd love for it to be able to identnfity traffic and count network usage. Is it possible? I have no idea why it's not visible there.

The last missing piece for me is having a dedicated MAC address for each jail :)

For jails with different services you can use single primary external IP.
For few jails which require the same ports - you can use different IPs specified on your interface.
It should be the best solution if your FreeBSD located inside LAN and you have a lot of IPs for every jail.

But if you want to have FreeBSD with single external IP and have no possibility to buy more than 1 external IP:
My own simple choice for jails related to multiple sites/services with http port 80 is: