Issue with getting Xorg configured on PowerMac G5

I've successfully installed 9.1 on my PPC G5 but I'm having trouble getting Xorg up and running. I have some Linux experience but I'm very new to the BSD world. I can run Xorg -configure but whenever I try to test the generated xorg.conf I just get a blank screen.

The two errors that jump out at me in the xorg.0.log are this:
Code:
(EE) AIGLX error: dlopen of /usr/local/lib/dri/swrast_dri.so failed (Cannot open "/usr/local/lib/dri/swrast_dri.so")
(EE) GLX: could not load software renderer

I've tried rebuilding dri, libGL, and libDRM without Nouveau as other posts have said but that doesn't seem to solve the issue. Any ideas? Let me know what information you need. Thanks.

Correct, I didn't use the radeonhd driver because it's deprecated. I've reinstalled x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati with no luck. It seems it's not loading the kernel modules I need.

When I run kldstat the only is only kernel loaded and that's it. I've tried building radeon.ko from source but when I try to load it into the kernel with kldload I get a version mismatch error. I think I checked out the wrong source tree.

I've also tried adding
Code:
WITHOUT_NOUVEAU="YES"
to rc.conf and reinstalling graphics/dri as well as graphics/libdrm without success.

You need to run Xorg -configure -retro because the file needs to be edited.

There is a tutorial on here which you can browse for setting up your system.
http://forums.freebsd.org/showthread.php?t=13827 Look at posts 1,2, and 56 in the thread.

Try that first and then post here. If the problem is more complex, post to the powerpc mailing list.