Is there a firewall running after fresh install - 7.1

Hello, I'm new to FreeBSD.

I just finished a fresh install of 7.1 and all went well. I used the standard/user options during installation.

Is there a firewall running on my system after this install? I don't see a firewall entry in rc.conf, but my system is acting as if there was a firewall around it.

If there is one, how can I tell?

Thanks in advance

GENERIC kernel? No. No firewall. If there's no firewall indicated using a custom kernel, it can only run as a module, which means it should show up in kldstat.

What makes you think there might be a firewall? What are you trying to do that fails? Trying to use it as a router without gateway_enable, or something?

No firewall is configured out of box. However default kernel does include pf and ipfw as module. For example, to configure pf add something as follows:
Code:
pf_enable="YES"
pflog_enable="YES"
pflog_logfile="/var/log/pflog"
pf_rules="/etc/pf.conf"
Once done create /etc/pf.conf:
Code:
tcp_services = "{ ssh, smtp, domain, www, https, ntp, 43,ftp, ftp-data}"
udp_services = "{ domain, ntp }"
icmp_types = "{ echoreq, unreach }"

table <blockedip> persist file "/etc/pf.block.ip.conf"

martians = "{ 127.0.0.0/8, 192.168.0.0/16, 172.16.0.0/12, 10.0.0.0/8, 169.254.0.0/16, 192.0.2.0/24, 0.0.0.0/8, 240.0.0.0/4 }"

ext_if = "em1"
int_if = "em0"

scrub in all

block in all
block return 

pass out keep state

set skip on {lo0, $int_if}

block in quick from urpf-failed

antispoof log for $ext_if

block drop in log (all)  quick on $ext_if from $martians to any
block drop out log (all) quick on $ext_if from any to $martians

block drop in log (all)  quick on $ext_if from <blockedip> to any
block drop out log (all) quick on $ext_if from any to <blockedip>

pass out on $ext_if proto tcp to any port $tcp_services
pass out on $ext_if proto udp to any port $udp_services
pass out on $ext_if inet proto udp from any to any port 33433 >< 33626 keep state