Solved Is running freebsd-update for the third time necessary?

I just upgraded from 11.2 to 12-RELEASE and it was smooth. This is my first time upgrading FreeBSD and I would like to keep the old shared libraries that this step is supposed to remove. I issued # freebsd-update install for the first time after downloading all the patches, then rebooted, then the Handbook mentions running that command again to delete old shared libraries and objects. I skipped that step and reinstalled all packages with # pkg upgrade -f. My system is working normally and the update seems to be complete. But the Handbook says that I should run # freebsd-update install again to "tie all loose ends".

Will it go to that phase or to the one I skipped? How can I finish updating properly without deleting the libraries? Can I just keep using my system like this?

While I don't have an explicit answer to your question (I don't know enough about how freebsd-update works), here is a warning:

Sooner or later, you will run freebsd-update again. For example to go from 12.0 to 12.1. And at that point, it will do the cleanup that you are fearing. My suggestion is this: Even if you fear that this cleanup will cause you pain, you are better of with having the pain now rather than later. So set aside half an hour, run it again, and then carefully check that everything you need or want is still working correctly. If it isn't, fix it.