Is it possible to connect a jail to the internet with a dynamic IP (DHCP)?

I am new to jails and all I want is to create a jail (using ezjail) for experimental purposes for now, and I want to be able to install packages and ports within that jail, so obviously I need an internet connection. The Handbook and the ezjail page only explain how to setup a jail using a static IP, but I want that it gets assigned an IP through DHCP from my router, just as my host-pc does. In my host computer I have ifconfig_nfe0="DHCP" which comes from the original installation with bsdinstall.
So is something like that possible in a jail, too? Having taken a look at the FreeNAS page it seems that they have a checkbox option for a jail for DHCP if I don't understand wrong.

• Thanks
Reactions: Oko
I've never used sysutils/ezjail, I do use sysutils/iocell and I just do need to set dhcp=on. iocell(8)
+1 for sysutils/iocell although silence on the mailing list is not giving much confidence about the future. sysutils/ezjail is abandoned because the author got pissed off (rightfully so) that
sysutils/qjail author has stolen his code and FreeBSD people are not removing that crap (crap refers to sysutils/qjail) from the ports. That is regrettable because there are situations in which UFS is preferable over ZFS (like in the case of embedded deployments) and iocell supports only Jail on the top of ZFS.

So, yes you can use DHCP in jail BUT you need vnet(9) and bpf(4). :)
VNET is not production ready. It can crash the host when you "power off" jail instance, IIRC also requires IPFW and it doesn't work with PF. There is a reason it is not enabled in generic kernel. Frankly I would not touch anything which requires kernel recompilation with a three-foot-long broomstick.

cabriofahrer