Is anybody interested in Kingsoft Office?

Hello everyone.

I am a developer of Kingsoft Office. And I'm one of the wps-community group members. We are intending to port Kingsoft Office to Unix and Unix-like systems.

Last year we ported Kingsoft Office to Linux. And last week, I ported Kingsoft Office to FreeBSD successfully. But we are limited by our limited develop resources. So I'm curious about this: does anybody need Kingsoft Office for FreeBSD? Is there anybody using FreeBSD as their desktop?

More about Kingsoft Office: http://wps-community.org

Here is a screenshot of Kingsoft Office for FreeBSD.

:)
Jin

Because the software was developed in China, you may want to ask for it to be in /usr/ports/chinese.

sossego said:
Because the software was developed in China, you may want to ask for it to be in /usr/ports/chinese.

Developed in China does not meaning developed for China. /usr/ports/chinese is intended for Chinese users' needs.

Sometimes Libre/OpenOffice can suck, so another option would be appreciated.

However, Kingsoft Office seems to be closed source and is developed in China. No offence, but I wouldn't trust it unless its source is opened. In fact I don't trust any closed source software no matter where it's from: America, China, Russia, India. I don't even trust my blob nVidia driver.

You can call me paranoid.

A question: is it developed with Java?

graudeejs said:
Sometimes Libre/OpenOffice can suck, so another option would be appreciated.

However, Kingsoft Office seems to be closed source and is developed in China. No offence, but I wouldn't trust it unless its source is opened. In fact I don't trust any closed source software no matter where it's from: America, China, Russia, India. I don't even trust my blob nVidia driver.

You can call me paranoid.

A question: is it developed with Java?

No, it's developed with C/C++. Closed source and made in China is the most barrier we met. Thank you for your reply.

pjincz said: