Solved IPv6 gateway?

I thought the local-link address was strictly used to broadcast router solicitation and requests. Not to use for actual traffic.

Anyway, I tried using the suggested address, but no luck. I can't even ping it.

I also found this blog post. Apparently I need to run rtsold and dhcp6c, to get a valid router address. So I enabled rtsold and did a reboot. But still, no luck :(

Well, at least it did give my ego a little boost. That guy seems to know his stuff and still broke his teeth on native ipv6. So, at least I'm not the only one. And I'm no expert too ;)

I'm getting closer though. As far as I understand the whole deal, getting a proper router/gateway address from my ISP is the only missing link. Once I have that, it should work.

I think I finally managed to tackle that last issue. It turned out I needed the option ipv6_cpe_wanif="em0" in /etc/rc.conf.

This is what /etc/rc.conf looks like (the ipv6 part, anyway)

Code:
ipv6_gateway_enable="YES"
ipv6_cpe_wanif="em0"
ifconfig_em0_ipv6="inet6 2000:1000:beef:ab00::1 prefixlen 64"
ifconfig_msk0_ipv6="inet6 -accept_rtadv"
dhcp6c_enable="YES"
dhcp6c_interfaces="em0"
rtadvd_enable="YES"
rtadvd_interfaces="msk0"

• Line 1 tells FreeBSD to act as a gateway for ipv6 traffic, coming from my LAN
  • Line 2 tells FreeBSD to accept router advertisement on my WAN interface. This is disable, because line 1 tells FreeBSD it is a router/gateway. This option turns it explicitly on and tells FreeBSD to accept router advertisement on em0, coming from my ISP.
  • Line 3 sets a static ipv6 address on the WAN interface. Because of some technical issues (line id's?) it's not given an ipv6 address bij the DHCP-server from my ISP. To get around that, I had to manually set an address from the first available subnet.
  • Line 4 Disables accept_rtadv on the LAN interface. Otherwise rtadvd can't broadcast ipv6 addresses on that interface.