Solved IPFW Log Session Setup only

I'm fairly new to IPFW but have read the various examples and the manual page carefully. I can't seem to find a way to log a successful connection without logging all subsequent packets. I thought the best way would be using keep-state but that doesn't work the way I intended. With IPFILTER there is a log first keyword to allow this functionality.

Here is an abbreviated set of my rules:
Code:
01100 check-state :default
02500 allow log logamount 100 tcp from 192.0.2.100 to me 22 setup keep-state :default
65500 deny log logamount 500 ip from any to any
65535 deny ip from any to any

Is it possible to get this functionality, logging only the first packet of a connection, with IPFW?

Thanks in advance,

Bob

Last edited:
[...] I can't seem to find a way to log a successful connection without logging all subsequent packets.

Here is an abbreviated set of my rules:
Code:
02500 allow log logamount 100 tcp from 192.0.2.100 to me 22 setup keep-state :default
65535 deny ip from any to any
Is it possible to get this functionality, logging only the first packet of a connection, with IPFW?
Ok, I did come up with a kludge that seems to work using two rules but I’d love to hear of a single rule solution as my kludge doubles the rules for each host (or requires me to convert to tables).

02500 allow log logamount 100 tcp from 192.0.2.100 to me 22 setup
02510 allow tcp from 192.0.2.100 to me 22

Ok, I did come up with a kludge that seems to work using two rules but I’d love to hear of a single rule solution as my kludge doubles the rules for each host (or requires me to convert to tables).
Tables are very useful, but don't seem applicable to this situation per se.

You can add 'count log ...' rules per host you want to log connections for, then later use a single 'allow ... keep-state' rule for all hosts in a subnet (or list) - assuming that's what you're intending?