Installing Xorg as root

If I made the mistake of installing everything in FreeBSD 8.1 as root up to this point, is a fresh re-install my only good option?

I am new to FreeBSD and recently went through the process of getting X running successfully with KDE4, Firefox and Adobe Flash Plugins showing up as installed after typing in the location bar:
Code:
about:plugins
I am now having various problems with Flash that I have determined (after reading posts on this forum) are probably related to the fact that I have been installing everything as root up to this point. After creating a new user and adding it to the group 'wheel', I am still unable to load KDE using:

[CMD=""]$ startx [/CMD]

It works as root, but as my new user, I get xterm instead. Does anyone know if its better at this point to re-install Freebsd from scratch and install X and create a user to install X or is there some way I can still get X to work with my new unprivileged user?

itslikethat said:
I am now having various problems with Flash that I have determined (after reading posts on this forum) are probably related to the fact that I have been installing everything as root up to this point.

That sounds like a serious misunderstanding. Ports and packages are normally installed as root. It's necessary, because only root has the ability to write to system directories. If someone has advised otherwise, they may be mistaken or just misunderstood.

After creating a new user and adding it to the group 'wheel', I am still unable to load KDE using:

[CMD=""]$ startx [/CMD]

It works as root, but as my new user, I get xterm instead.

Modify your .xinitrc or .xsession as the Handbook describes. Following the Handbook from the start helps. It is fact-checked and much more often correct than random advice from the average well-meaning stranger like me.

Does anyone know if its better at this point to re-install Freebsd from scratch and install X and create a user to install X