Installing FreeBSD to USB

Hi,

I'm completely new to FreeBSD, Unix and everything non-Windows/Mac, so please be gentle and forgive my ignorance.

I've been reading the Handbook and New User guides and playing around trying to install FreeBSD but I'm not sure if I am misreading the Handbook. I realise that you can put the installation file onto a memory stick by using dd or the Image Writer program and then installing FreeBSD from that, but I wanted to confirm - can you run FreeBSD off of a USB stick? I currently am running Freenas off a USB stick and would like to do the same with FreeBSD as I'm starting to think Freenas won't do all the things I want it to do (questions to follow on that later!).

What I've tried so far:

I have tried writing the img file using dd - this was unsuccessful, as I kept getting an error message with the command

[cmd=]# sysctl kern.geom.debugflags=16[/cmd]

and therefore tried dd'ing without first doing that. I then tried to use a CD to install onto the USB, which failed a number of times when I got to the "Creating Partitions using Disklabel" stage (inadequate space). I then manually set partition sizes (1GB for /, 512M each for swap and /var and ~2G for /usr) which worked beautifully, but then the system wouldn't boot after the installation completed. I rebooted (after changing boot priority to USB) and it simply had a "-" showing on a black screen.

I've now used Image Writer to write the img file to the USB, but how can you fdisk the disk the installation is running from (which it didn't - error message again)...

I apologise for asking such a stupid basic question, but I've tried google and I've tried the Handbook and I'm still stumped. I'd really appreciate your help.

Thanks very much
Chris

calgarychris said:
can you run FreeBSD off of a USB stick?

Sure. Of course it has to be a different drive than the installer.