Installing and Starting MySQL on FreeBSD

I am new to FreeBSD. I would appreciate any help in getting MySQL running. I have created a jail on my network and I'm trying to install and start MySQL on the jail.

I used
Code:
pkg install mysql57-server mysql57-client

to install the software. Then, following tutorials I found online, I removed the folder /var/db/mysql using:

Code:
rm -rf /var/db/mysql

I also edited /etc/rc.conf so that it now includes:

Code:
mysql_enable="YES"

Then, following the instructions here:

http://www.gamecreatures.com/blog/2016/02/22/freebsd-mysql-server-failed-precmd-routine/

I modified /usr/local/etc/rc.d/mysql-server according to those instructions.

Now, after rebooting my server, when I try to start mysql-server, I get the following errors:

Code:
root@mysql:/ # service mysql-server start                                      
2017-12-06 16:09:16 [WARNING] mysql_install_db is deprecated. Please consider sw
itching to mysqld --initialize                                                
2017-12-06 16:09:16 [ERROR]   Child process: /usr/local/libexec/mysqldterminated
 prematurely with errno= 32                                                    
2017-12-06 16:09:16 [ERROR]   Failed to execute /usr/local/libexec/mysqld --defa
ults-extra-file=/usr/local/etc/mysql/my.cnf --bootstrap --datadir=/var/db/mysql
--lc-messages-dir=/usr/local/share/mysql --lc-messages=en_US --basedir=/usr/loca
l                                                                              
-- server log begin --                                                        
2017-12-06T21:09:16.398758Z 0 [Warning] --bootstrap is deprecated. Please consid
er using --initialize instead                                                  
2017-12-06T21:09:16.400483Z 0 [Warning] Could not increase number of max_open_fi
les to more than 1024 (request: 32929)                                        
2017-12-06T21:09:16.400511Z 0 [Warning] Changed limits: table_open_cache: 431 (r