installed freebsd 13 kde

hortdog

Member

Reaction score: 6
Messages: 73

Hi
Well the install went very well. I have kde plasma installed vlc libre office nano firefox and chromium. All good except. Once again HDD's in pc do not show in any screen other than lsblk. Tried mounting no luck. The other major issue is no sound. I have a usb soundblaster external sound card. The other problem I have is no samba connection to NAS drive Western DIgital my cloud.
I am giving freebsd a very good test. I am playing a newbie. I have 10 years ubuntu and arch so I am quite confident in setting up the devices well until now.
 

tuxador

Active Member

Reaction score: 49
Messages: 113

can you please give more details? which filesystem are used in your HDD's?
Samba can easily be configured with freebsd the manual section is well written
 

SirDice

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator

Reaction score: 11,622
Messages: 37,960

With regards to audio, look at the output of cat /dev/sndstat. You often need to fiddle with sysctl hw.snd.default_unit=N to set the correct default for your situation.
 

bobmc

Member

Reaction score: 35
Messages: 81

I wrote a command-line script for testing CODECS and DACs. "multimedia gaming/Testing audio CODECs and External DACs". The sound system is rather complex so I try to start with the simplest thing that can possibly work.

This script requires one to grep dmesg for the pcm channel numbers.
 
OP
H

hortdog

Member

Reaction score: 6
Messages: 73

With regards to audio, look at the output of cat /dev/sndstat. You often need to fiddle with sysctl hw.snd.default_unit=N to set the correct default for your situation

Thanks Sir Dice I did exactly that using N=9 where the usb sound is connected But errored and no sound. Any way I removed the usb soundblaster and the onboard audio works
 
OP
H

hortdog

Member

Reaction score: 6
Messages: 73

With regards to audio, look at the output of cat /dev/sndstat. You often need to fiddle with sysctl hw.snd.default_unit=N to set the correct default for your situation.
Hello Sir Dice good news on my side the hdd have been mounted. I have corrected an error in the fstab file and now it mounts all the drives. My one error is sti;; sound. Whem freebsd starts up i can hear the noise in the speakers. In the screen script it shows the sound blaster connected to usbus0.
Code:
[root@leigh-b450aoruselite leighh]# dmesg | egrep 'pcm|snd|hdac'
[    3.976568] snd_hda_intel 0000:09:00.1: Force to non-snoop mode
[    3.984335] snd_hda_intel 0000:09:00.1: bound 0000:09:00.0 (ops amdgpu_dm_audio_component_bind_ops [amdgpu])
[    3.985020] input: HDA ATI HDMI HDMI/DP,pcm=3 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:03.1/0000:09:00.1/sound/card2/input4
[    4.001189] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC3D0: autoconfig for ALC892: line_outs=4 (0x14/0x15/0x16/0x17/0x0) type:line
[    4.001191] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC3D0:    speaker_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    4.001192] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC3D0:    hp_outs=1 (0x1b/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    4.001193] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC3D0:    mono: mono_out=0x0
[    4.001193] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC3D0:    dig-out=0x11/0x0
[    4.001194] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC3D0:    inputs:
[    4.001195] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC3D0:      Front Mic=0x19
[    4.001195] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC3D0:      Rear Mic=0x18
[    4.001196] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC3D0:      Line=0x1a
[    4.016136] usbcore: registered new interface driver snd-usb-audio
[    4.051867] input: HDA ATI HDMI HDMI/DP,pcm=7 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:03.1/0000:09:00.1/sound/card2/input5
[    4.051896] input: HDA ATI HDMI HDMI/DP,pcm=8 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:03.1/0000:09:00.1/sound/card2/input6
[    4.051975] input: HDA ATI HDMI HDMI/DP,pcm=9 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:03.1/0000:09:00.1/sound/card2/input7
[    4.051994] input: HDA ATI HDMI HDMI/DP,pcm=10 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:03.1/0000:09:00.1/sound/card2/input8
[    4.052071] input: HDA ATI HDMI HDMI/DP,pcm=11 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:03.1/0000:09:00.1/sound/card2/input9
 

Alain De Vos

Daemon

Reaction score: 548
Messages: 1,893

The output of, could be interesting,
Code:
/usr/sbin/mixer -f /dev/mixer0
/usr/sbin/mixer -f /dev/mixer1
/usr/sbin/mixer -f /dev/mixer2
 
Top