Install failure

Hello everyone,

I've been using Linux OSes for about 7 months and decided to try FreeBSD mainly due to a driver issue with my high speed modem/router.

I have installed about a dozen different distros. I read through the FreeBSD install procedure and found it very similar to what I been doing.

I read this in the manual:

2.2.1.2 FreeBSD/amd64

There are two classes of processors capable of running FreeBSD/amd64. The first are AMD64 processors, including the AMD Athlonâ„¢64, AMD Athlon64-FX, AMD Opteronâ„¢ or better processors.

The second class of processors that can use FreeBSD/amd64 includes those using the Intel® EM64T architecture. Examples of these processors include the Intel Core™ 2 Duo, Quad, and Extreme processor families and the Intel Xeon™ 3000, 5000, and 7000 sequences of processors

I have a HP Compaq with a Core 2 Duo. I wanted a 64 bit system so I download the amd64 ISO.

I went through the install a few times up to the point of no return just to make sure I had every thing correct, then install failed and overwrote my MBR. I tried the install again to make sure I had everything set, and could not find any issues. Then I read the hardware file in the install and it said it supported Intel Core 2 (not Core 2 Duo). So I have reinstalled a linux OS in its place to recreate my bootloader (I've had to do that twice before, no biggie) after coming back here and reading a bit more, I realized I was in the wrong manual.

I should have stopped by here first and ask a few question before I started, live and learn. Now I need some advice. I want a 64 system (not a deal breaker if 32 is all there is) on a Core 2 Duo, which ISO should I use?

The i386 for FreeBSD 8.1 on a Core 2 Duo? Is i386 32bit? What's the scope?

I have a HP Compaq (8510w) with
Code:
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     T7500  @ 2.20GHz (2194.51-MHz K8-class CPU)
That's amd64.

I don't understand,