Incremental build

I am new to FreeBSD. I want to learn more about FreeBSD and improve my developer skills and learn about some protocols like DNS and DHCP. I am able to successfully compile FreeBSD source by using command make buildworld. But I want to change some code in some specific file and do incremental build only specific file/folder because full build is taking 6 hrs ~.

Can somebody please provide info regarding incremental builds.

I am using freebsdFreeBSD 10.2.

I'm not sure if it's enough (I always do a full build) but try make -DNO_CLEAN buildworld. That should build only the changed bits. See build(7):
Code:
     NO_CLEAN               If set, no object tree files are cleaned at all.
                            Setting NO_CLEAN implies NO_KERNELCLEAN, so when
                            NO_CLEAN is set no kernel objects are cleaned
                            either.

And depending on where you've made the changes you can also do a make install inside one of the directories in the source tree.

I'm not sure if it's enough (I always do a full build) but try make -DNO_CLEAN buildworld. That should build only the changed bits. See build(7):
Code:
     NO_CLEAN               If set, no object tree files are cleaned at all.
                            Setting NO_CLEAN implies NO_KERNELCLEAN, so when
                            NO_CLEAN is set no kernel objects are cleaned
                            either.

And depending on where you've made the changes you can also do a make install inside one of the directories in the source tree.

Wowza, I stumbled across this while browsing the forums and tried it out - brought a five hour build down to less than ten minutes! Out of interest, is there a good reason for not doing these incremental builds? i.e. is there a good reason for doing a "clean" build?