Other i3 freezes after one successful keyboard stroke (eg dmenu launched)

Hello all,

I've been using dwm on freebsd for about 10 years, and after a few odd problems I discovered i3 and switched to it. Unfortunately, after a few months of fine transition, I'm having problems with i3 that seem to me very similar with the ones whith dwm.

A few weeks ago, after a pkg update (using quarterly),

1 -- rxvt-unicode wouldn't start anymore at i3's startup; sometimes, no keybord shortcut would succeed to launch any application from that point, sometimes one could work (dmenu_run for instance), then nothing started from dmenu (eg urxvt, or claws-mail...),

2 -- now that I have removed urxvt from $HOME/.xinitrc, I have one successful shortcut (eg dmenu_run or another terminal), and any i3 internal chortcut fails (eg workspace $ws2 or exit i3)

3 -- when I quit by killing i3, the only relevant error message that I can see is (if I had tried unsuccessfully to start urxvt):
Code:
waiting for X server to shut down urxvt: X connection to ':0' broken, unable to

recover, exiting.

Hereis my genuine $HOME/.xinitrc
Code:
#!/bin/sh
setxkbmap fr latin9
xrdb -merge .Xdefaults
xset +fp $HOME/.fonts
test -x /usr/local/bin/numlockx && /usr/local/bin/numlockx on
#xscreensver-command -exit
#xscreensaver -no-splash &
feh --bg-scale /usr/home/phil/meta/Nackround/714894nb.png
urxvt -pe tabbed &
#exec dwm
###while true; do
#    xsetroot -name "`date '+%A %d %B %Y %H:%M'`"
   ## xsetroot -name "`date '+%A %d/%m/%Y %T'`"
    ##sleep 1
##done &
exec i3

Here's my /etc/rc.conf:
Code:
clear_tmp_enable="YES"
sendmail_enable="NONE"
hostname="humble-abode"
keymap="fr.acc.kbd"
ifconfig_re0="DHCP"
ifconfig_re0_ipv6="inet6 accept_rtadv"
sshd_enable="YES"
moused_enable="YES"
ntpdate_enable="YES"
cupsd_enable="YES"
linux_enable="YES"
devfs_system_ruleset="localrules"
volmand_enable="YES"
#autofs_enable="YES"
dbus_enable="YES"
hal_enable="YES"
# Set dumpdev to "AUTO" to enable crash dumps, "NO" to disable