Solved How to Upgrade FreeBSD 8.2 to 10.1?

Hi all,
My first question in FreeBSD community, sorry my poor English.

I have 2 FreeBSD servers left by previous admin, both running FreeBSD 8.2. I want to upgrade them to 10.1, and already finished one, the process was full of difficulties, but all fixed at last.

Now I am ready to begin the last one, here is the list of steps. I hope you can help me check if they are OK, if the order is OK. I have little experience to upgrade FreeBSD like that.

1, use freebsd-update(8) tool upgrade base system to 9.x
2, use freebsd-update(8) tool upgrade base system to 10.x
3, run the pkg2ng command
4, rebuild all ports software only once, and done.

If the order correct for me? Thanks for your help advanced.

Looks correct. If the ports were built with the default options, you could instead use # pkg upgrade -f to update all of the packages.

There is one complication with packages that you may care about. The old-style package list did not distinguish between directly-installed (non-automatic) packages and dependency-installed (automatic) packages. So when you convert using pkg2ng it assumes all packages were directly-installed (non-automatic). This inhibits pkg autoremove from working and may prove confusing further down the line.

When I look at my list of packages it correctly tells me which I installed and which were installed as dependencies.

Code:
# pkg query -e "%a == 0" "DIRECT %n-%v" | wc -l
# pkg query -e "%a == 1" "DEPENDENCY %n-%v" | wc -l

When I upgraded from 8 to 9, I took the route of dumping the list of packages and manually pruning the list down to exclude the dependencies. Then I used portmaster to specifically install the packages I wanted under the pkgng world.

But if you use pkg2ng, you can manually adjust the direct/dependent (non-auto/auto) setting by using pkg set, here is an example.

Code:
pkg query -a 'pkg set -A %a %n'