How to set up a file and printer server for Windows Clients

I want to set up a File and Print Server for windows based client PCs at home, I installed freebsd FreeBSD 9 and read the freebsd FreeBSD Handbook on this but the Handbook is pretty confusing and hard to figure out ie: some commands don't work in the basic section of the book so I gave up, I searched online numerous times looking for a guide but none was useful. I don't want to have FreeNAS, I'd rather achieve this with frustration.

I have no prior UNIX knowledge so the reason I chose freebsd FreeBSD is that I don't like to go for linux solution since there hundreds os distros whereas BSDs only a few and also I really want to learn a BSD system. I'm not asking to give me a step by step guide. If anyone of you can direct me where to go and what to read even on handbook is fine.

Most people who write tutorials automatically assume every reader has prior knowledge or some divine eyes of some sort which is very bad. I have freebsd FreeBSD system installed and nothing else and I have no clue what to do, Any help would be much appreciated. I"m pretty confused :(

PS - If you can tell me what to do for example:

1 read and learn ------
2 read and learn -------
= end result is a up and running file and print server.

Most people who write tutorial automatically assume every reader has prior knowledge or some divine eyes of some sort which is very bad. I have freebsd system installed and nothing else and I have no clue what to do, Any help would be much appreciated. I"m pretty confused

Well maybe you must do this in small steps. First install a FreeBSD server. Then start adding services to the mix. You want a File / print server, so the first thing is to find out what you need. If you want to share files to windows clients, samba is needed, if you want sharing printers, cups comes to mind.