How to safely exchange encryption keys between server and client?

Hi,

i am writing a small server / client application using Asio and i exchange messages in plain text between a server and multiple clients.
This works fine but now i want to encrypt the messages using Crypto++.

I wrote a small wrapper class around ChaChaTLS to encrypt and decrypt messages, which works fine also.

But i wonder how to safely exchange the generated keys without the possibility to intercept them via a man in the middle attack.
I mean if i create a key on the server and send it to the client, i can capture the network traffic and read the key.

How do you do it so that the key can't be read by others?
And should i reuse the same key on the client and the server or should i create two (one for client, one for server)?

Sorry if i miss the obvious, but i am a crypto noob.

Certificate Authority (CA) is the most common way to protect exchange of encryption keys, and it comes with fees unless there's an exemption for type of service.

Here's about initiatives for verifying connections for encryption: https://blog.prosody.im/mandatory-encryption-on-xmpp-starts-today/. It's about XMPP, but there's relevancy for other connections.

DNSSEC, security/monkeysphere, and manual fingerprint checking (using another communication to visually verify/compare fingerprints). (DNSSEC is also used for websites.)

Thank you.

After reading a bit more, i found this:

Asymmetric Key Flow.png
  1. The Sender and Recipient verify each other’s certificates:
    1. The sender sends a certificate to the recipient for verification.
    2. The recipient then checks the certificate against their Certificate Authority (CA) or an external Validation Authority (VA) for authentication.
    3. Once the sender’s certificate has been verified, the recipient then sends their certificate to the sender for authentication and acceptance.
  2. Once the sender and recipient have mutual acceptance: