How to install Pegasus Email Client on FreeBSD

Has anyone here had success installing Pegasus Mail e-mail client on FreeBSD?

I have been using Pegasus Mail for many years and would reeeeeely rather not try to find and use another e-mail client. I tried Thunderbird, and don't care for it. I have not yet tried to use Sendmail on my present 13.2-RELEASE setup, but do remember using it many years ago while I was a SYSAD at the University of Idaho. I didn't care much for it then either.

I know that one must install WINE in order to use apps like Pegasus since it is primarily a Windoze app, so I have installed WINE and gotten it to work OK, (although I probably need to tweak it a bit more.)

So far, I cannot get Pegasus to run and don't know what else to do to get it to work.

Also, I am not even sure at this point if I am posting this to the correct part of the forum.

Can anyone help with this?

Ken Gordon

I don't understand how sendmail fits in a thread about "mail clients" (MUAs)? :-/ Sendmail is an MTA (transporting mail, not reading/composing it).

About Pegasus, as I never tried it, all I can say is that wine works pretty well for me in general. If you have a specific win32 program that doesn't work, I'd suggest you give some details about how you installed and setup wine, how you installed this windows software, how you're attempting to run it, and then also check wine's console output (it's pretty verbose, but might also contain hints about what the actual error/problem is).

And of course, there are so many mail clients available, maybe it's still worthwhile to test a few? It would certainly ease your life a bit if you could just use some native FreeBSD program for that 😉

Pegasus seems to be ancient... The last Windows version they mention as working/tested is Vista, and that it should work on Windows 7. Especially for something like a MUA this should raise just about every red flag...