How to get accelerated H.264 video decoding on Radeon GPUs?

Hi,

first of all, I have been working with Linux servers for 15 years as a system administrator so I'm not new to the world of UNIX-based OSes, but absolutely new to BSDs of any kind. After having used Linux for such a long time, I wanted to try something else and also, get a bit more familiar with BSD so a few days ago I decided to reinstall my home PC with FreeBSD, replacing my good old CentOS 7 system I have used (and kind-of liked) for many years. No regrets, so far! :)

I'm currently running FreeBSD 12.0-CURRENT with all the updates installed, my graphics card is a Radeon HD 7750:

Code:
root@nb:~ # uname -a
FreeBSD nb 12.0-CURRENT FreeBSD 12.0-CURRENT #0 r331740: Thu Mar 29 21:24:24 UTC 2018     root@releng3.nyi.freebsd.org:/usr/obj/usr/src/amd64.amd64/sys/GENERIC  amd64

Code:
root@nb:~ # pciconf -lv | grep -A 4 'vgapci0@pci0:1:0:0'
vgapci0@pci0:1:0:0:    class=0x030000 card=0xe213174b chip=0x683f1002 rev=0x00 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]'
    device     = 'Cape Verde PRO [Radeon HD 7750/8740 / R7 250E]'
    class      = display
    subclass   = VGA

I have built and installed the new DRM modules from drm-next-kmod using the Ports system and also rebuilt mesa-dri to have VAAPI and VDPAU support enabled. That's basically everything I have done so far, except for installing some packages I need using the pkg install command.

Some relevant packages and their versions:

Code:
[nb@nb /usr/home/nb]$ for pkg in mesa-dri xf86-video-amdgpu drm-next-kmod; do pkg info $pkg | head -n1; done
mesa-dri-17.3.1_1
xf86-video-amdgpu-1.3.0_1
drm-next-kmod-4.11.g20180224

The amdgpu KMS module is loaded at boot-time through the setting kld_list="amdgpu" in /etc/rc.conf. The module loads and cooperates absolutely fine with the amdgpu video driver as all the usual desktop effects work correctly within GNOME and no errors are logged to /var/log/Xorg.0.log.