how to check diskspace?

I have a little script i wrote to check if a process is running, and start it if it isn't. This has worked fine but now i have a new issue.

I need to be able to check the space of a users home directory and make the script NOT run the process if it's close to full....any ideas? i'm fairly new to this.

Here is my current script
Code:
#!/bin/sh
PATH=/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/sbin:/bin:/sbin
SERVICE='rtorrent'

if pgrep -u $USER $SERVICE > /dev/null
then
    echo "$SERVICE service running, everything is fine"
else
    echo "$SERVICE is not running, starting $SERVICE"| screen -d -m -S seedbox $SERVICE
fi

Code:
df -H | grep -vE '^Filesystem|tmpfs|cdrom' | awk '{ print $5 " " $1 }'

is what i have so far.....

ok, so i have this
Code:
#!/bin/sh
df -H /usr/home/$USER| grep -vE '^Filesystem|tmpfs|cdrom' | awk '{ print $5 " " $1 }' | while read output;
do
  echo $output
  usep=$(echo $output | awk '{ print $1}' | cut -d'%' -f1  )
  partition=$(echo $output | awk '{ print $2 }' )
  if [ $usep -ge 90 ]; then
    echo "out of space \"$partition ($usep%)\" on $(hostname) as on $(date)"
  fi
done

now i need to make it not not run rtorrent if it's over the number i set, currently i have it at 90

Code:
#!/bin/sh

df -H /usr/home/$USER| grep -vE '^Filesystem|tmpfs|cdrom' | awk '{ print $5 " " $1 }' | while read output;
do
  echo $output
  if [ $usep -ge 90 ]; then
    echo "Running out of space \"$partition ($usep%)\" on $(hostname) as on $(date)"
  fi
done
SERVICE='rtorrent'

then
else
    echo "$SERVICE is not running, starting $SERVICE"| screen -d -m -S seedbox $SERVICE
fi
i think this will work, what do you think

actually, this doesn't work.....i'm so new to this...how do i make it END before it checks the rtorrent part

Code:
#!/bin/sh
SERVICE='rtorrent'

do
  echo $output
  if [ $usep -ge 70 ]; then
    echo "Running out of space \"$partition ($usep%)\" on $(hostname) as on $(date)"
 else

then
else
 fi
fi
done
ok, i got it