PF how it works

Hi all,

I am studying about PF rules. Now going through them. Just need some clarification.

Code:
block in all
pass out all keep state

Assume that there are two interfaces (em0->external) and (em1-internal network). My pf.conf has above two rules. In these rules, no mention of interfaces, so to which interfaces, these rules are applicable.

Thanks for your help.

They apply to both interfaces. It blocks any traffic coming in on both em0 andem1. Outgoing traffic on either interface is permitted.

These rules are convenient for a single workstation or server but not for a router or firewall.

I use those 2 basic rules when I set up a new desktop and set up pf is the first thing I do. Then run freebsd-update fetch.

Once I'm done I switch to my own ruleset but have used the basic rules for days at a time with no problem. I've posted mine a couple times if you're interested.

Thank you for help.

Another clarification from below nat rule:
Code:
nat on em0 inet from em1:network to any -> em0

Here, there are two interfaces (em0->external interface) and (em1-internal network).

From above the rule, how i can understand "em1:network" part followed after "from"(
from em1:network) and
"any" keyword.

From my understanding, "em1:network" represents (internal interface card)

Can you clarify this?

Another thing i want to you that where can I get Freebsd pf grammar For OpenBsd it is available.But not for this.Can you provide me link

From pf.conf(5):
Code:
           Addresses can be specified in CIDR notation (matching netblocks),
           as symbolic host names, interface names or interface group names,
           or as any of the following keywords:

any             Any address.
Code:
           Interface names and interface group names can have modifiers
           appended:

:network      Translates to the network(s) attached to the
                         interface.